search menu
  • Home
  • keyboard_arrow_right Top 10 NBA Legacy Franchises

Top 10 NBA Legacy Franchises

April 11, 2023 31

share close

There are a number of NBA franchises that have left lasting impacts on the league. These teams have achieved sustained success over long periods of time and have become synonymous with the history of the NBA. With the NBA Playoffs set to Begin. Here are some of the most notable legacy franchises in NBA history:

1. Boston Celtics (1957-1969) – During this period, the Celtics won 11 championships in 13 years, with Bill Russell leading the way. Other notable players from this era include Bob Cousy, John Havlicek, and Sam Jones.

2. Los Angeles Lakers (1980s-2000s) – The Lakers dominated in the 1980s with Magic Johnson and Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, winning five championships in the decade. They then won five championships in the 2000s with Kobe Bryant and Shaquille O’Neal. Other notable players include Wilt Chamberlain, Jerry West, and James Worthy.

3. Chicago Bulls (1990s) – Led by Michael Jordan, the Bulls won six championships in eight years from 1991 to 1998. Other notable players include Scottie Pippen, Dennis Rodman, and Steve Kerr.

4. San Antonio Spurs (1999-2014) – The Spurs won five championships over a 15-year span with Tim Duncan, Tony Parker, and Manu Ginobili leading the way. Other notable players include David Robinson and Kawhi Leonard.

5. Golden State Warriors (2015-2019) – The Warriors won three championships in four years with a dominant team led by Stephen Curry, Klay Thompson, and Draymond Green. Other notable players include Kevin Durant and Andre Iguodala.

6. Miami Heat (2006-2014) – The Heat won three championships in four years with a superstar trio of LeBron James, Dwyane Wade, and Chris Bosh. Other notable players include Shaquille O’Neal and Alonzo Mourning.

7. Philadelphia 76ers (1966-1983) – During this period, the 76ers won two championships, with Wilt Chamberlain leading the way in the late 1960s. They then won another championship in 1983 with Julius Erving, also known as “Dr. J.”

8. Detroit Pistons (1989-1990s) – The Pistons won back-to-back championships in 1989 and 1990 with a rugged, defensive-minded team known as the “Bad Boys.” Notable players include Isiah Thomas, Joe Dumars, and Dennis Rodman.

9. New York Knicks (1970s-1990s) – The Knicks won two championships in the early 1970s with a team led by Willis Reed and Walt Frazier. They then had a competitive team in the 1990s with Patrick Ewing, John Starks, and Charles Oakley.

10. Los Angeles Clippers (2010s) – While historically a less successful team, the Clippers had a strong run in the 2010s with Chris Paul, Blake Griffin, and DeAndre Jordan, reaching the playoffs several times and establishing themselves as a competitive team in the league.

Rate it
Previous post

Subscribe Newsletter